Disability and Community Services (DCS) transition to a new structure is in progress and scheduled to become operational by 1 July 2019.

The new structure reflects the change to specialist disability services and programs as a result of full scheme implementation of the NDIS.  The DCS transition includes cessation of therapeutic supports to people with a disability by the Disability Assessment and Advisory Team (DAAT), as well as changes to tasks and functions across the DCS Program.

DCS’ new organisational structure will carry out the following roles and functions.


The Directorate provides strategic leadership and direction in the development and management of DCS, based on an understanding on community need, through:

  • purchasing and regulation, supported by development and implementation of policy, to ensure an integrated service system delivered through the non-government sector for vulnerable children, young people and families and people with disabilities and their families and carers
  • monitoring data and finance
  • managing projects and strategic development initiatives established under relevant legislation, government policy, budget priorities, strategic plans and policies and agreements
  • facilitating collaboration in the sector
  • national interface and representation.

Disability Services Policy and Programs (DSPP)

The DSPP has responsibility for the administration, regulation and review of the Disability Services Act 2011 and setting the policy agenda to support delivery of services to people with disability in Tasmania.  Functions of DSPP include:

  • strategic planning, implementation, development and review of policy at state and national levels, including:
    • the development and implementation of Australian Government policy directions and reforms, and
    • developing policies that deliver comprehensive and genuine engagement with people with disability taking full account of their needs and circumstances
  • administration and review of relevant legislation, including the Disability Services Act 2011
  • working collaboratively with the NDIA in full scheme, as well as the community sector
  • supporting access to services for people who are not eligible for the NDIS
  • supporting access to universal services through facilitating collaboration across government and sectors.

Community Services Policy and Programs (CSPP)

The CSPP has the responsibility for the provision of effective support to vulnerable children, young people, individuals and families through a range of programs.  These include the commissioning of client support programs, building capacity across government and the community and overseeing whole of government strategies.  The six program areas are: Elder Abuse, Supporting Families, Support for people impacted by Gambling, Community Based Family Violence Services, Sexual Assault Support Services, Person and Family Counselling. The work undertaken includes:

  • project management and strategic development of initiatives established under relevant legislation, government policy, budget priorities, strategic plans and policies (external and internal) and agreements (State, Commonwealth and local)
  • key stakeholder and relationship management including of effective liaison, communication, information and support mechanisms within Community Services, across the government and in partnership with the community sector and jurisdictional agencies
  • commissioning, negotiation and management of funding agreements and contracts for organisations
  • providing strategic advice to inform policy and the strategic priorities of Communities Tasmania.

Office of the Senior Practitioner (OSP)

The OSP has responsibility for the authorisation of restrictive interventions in accordance with the Disability Services Act 2011. The functions of the Senior Practitioner include:

  • leading best practice in Positive Behaviour Support
  • developing standards and guidelines for behaviour support and restrictive interventions
  • monitoring restrictive interventions and the requirements of the Disability Services Act (2011)
  • carrying out the functions of an Authorised Officer in accordance with section 25(1) of the Disability Services Act 2011
  • working with the sector to improve the provision of services to people with disability, through the provision of:
  • specialist advice to, and consultation with, government and the sector, and
  • information and education in relation to restrictive interventions and techniques that reduce the need for their use.

Autism Diagnostic Service

The Autism Diagnostic Service provides comprehensive diagnostic assessments for children and young people suspected of having an autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The functions of this service include:

  • provision of evidence-based information and
  • appropriate referral to community and specialised services as relevant for children and their families.