The Tasmanian Sporting Hall of Fame has two new members, both are Olympians with long sporting careers.

David Guest and Sam Beltz

Sam Beltz - rowing

Sam Beltz with gold medal

Olympian and World Champion rower Sam Beltz was a member of the Australian Rowing Team for 15 years.

Born in Hobart, Sam rowed with the Lindisfarne Rowing Club and trained with the Tasmanian Institute of Sport while also studying and working as a physiotherapist.

In 1999, Sam joined the Australia Rowing Team and went on to win a number of medals for Australia.

The highlight of Sam’s career was winning gold in the Lightweight Men’s Four at the 2011

World Championship in Bled, Slovenia.

Sam won silver medals in the Lightweight Men’s Four at the World Rowing Championships, in 2010, and silver in the Lightweight Men’s Quadruple Sculls at the World Championships in Italy, in 2003.

Sam represented Australia at the Beijing Olympics 2008 and London Olympics 2012.

Following retirement from sport, Sam is focusing on family life and physiotherapy career specialising in workplace rehabilitation and injury management.

David Guest -  hockey

David Guest playing hockey

David Guest was a member of the Kookaburras hockey team for 10 years and played 103 international matches and scored 19 goals.  David was a member of the Kookaburras team that won gold at the Champions Trophy, in Chennai, in 2005; and silver at the Champions Trophy in Kuala Lumpar in 2007.

Winning a bronze medal for Australia in men’s hockey at the Beijing 2008 Olympics was a highlight of David’s career, where the midfielder made two penalty corner conversions.

Following retirement from International Hockey, David moved to coaching in 2011 and was the Tassie Tigers assistant coach in 2012 and 2013.

David has acquired extensive background in coaching and performance analysis through his time with the Kookaburras and Hockeyroos, as an analyst with the Fremantle Dockers, along with working with the WAIS and NSWIS. Congratulations David Guest and Sam Beltz on becoming members of the Tasmanian Sporting Hall of Fame.