Grassy plain on Cape Barren Island also known as truwana.

truwana is also known as Cape Barren Island        A map for kunanyi/Mt Wellington  

About the Aboriginal Dual Naming Policy

The Tasmanian Government's Aboriginal and Dual Naming Policy allow geographical features and places to be given both an introduced and Aboriginal language name.

It is important to acknowledge the history and continued existence of the Tasmanian Aboriginal (pakana) communities and Aboriginal connections to the Tasmanian (lutruwita) landscape, as well as European connections.

pakana history in lutruwita is as rich as in any other state and it is important that this is recognised and preserved.

Key features of the Aboriginal and Dual Naming Policy:

  • Gives preference to Aboriginal names for geographic features or places that do not already have an official or assigned name;
  • Enables a transparent dual naming system, where an official name is already in use. The attachment of an Aboriginal name sits alongside the introduced name.
  • Provides a consistent guide to attaching Aboriginal names, and how it is approached.

The Aboriginal and Dual Naming Policy will not attach Aboriginal names to existing features such as roads, highways, bridges, and communication towers.

The Aboriginal and Dual Naming Policy will apply to naming Tasmanian features and places in accordance with the Place Names Act 2020.

Responsibility of attaching names to places remains with the Place Names Advisory Panel, based within the Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and the Environment (DPIPWE).


To date, 13 places are assigned under the Aboriginal and Dual Naming Policy 2012.  This is an important step in the ongoing recognition and preservation of lutruwita's/Tasmania's Aboriginal heritage and culture. The dual named places are:

  • kunanyi / Mount Wellington. Dual name for the mountain
  • kanamaluka /River Tamar. Dual name for the river from its source in Launceston to its mouth at Low Head
  • truwana/ Cape Barren Island. Dual name for the island as a geographical feature
  • takayna/Tarkine. The dual name will apply to the Unbounded Locality already named Tarkine
  • putalina applies to an unbounded Locality covering the cove at Oyster Cove, the Aboriginal property “Oyster Cove”and adjacent lands with boundaries undefined
  • larapuna applies to an Unbounded Locality extending roughly from Eddystone Point to Grants Points, the water of the Bay of Fires between the two points, and adjacent lands with boundaries undefined. This is generally the whole Bay of Fires area, which the name larapuna is specifically for.
  • wukalina/Mount William - Dual name for the mountain
  • yingina/Great Lake - Dual name
  • titima/Trefoil Island - to be dual named with Trefoil Island and depicted as titima
  • laraturunawn/Sundown Point - Dual name
  • nungu/West Point - to be dual named with West Point and depicted as nungu / West Point
  • taypalaka/Green Point - to be dual named with Green Point and depicted as taypalaka / Green Point
  • pinmatik/Rocky Cape - to be dual named with Rocky Cape and depicted as pinmatik / Rocky Cape