Celebrating women’s achievements through award systems

Every year, thousands of women make extensive contributions to our communities, but they are still under-represented in most major public awards.  Everyone can make a difference by nominating an outstanding woman for an award.  The following are a list of annual public awards, follow the link to find out more about each award or download the Women and Public Awards information sheet.

Australia Day Awards

On Australia Day, local councils across Tasmania recognise the exceptional contribution of their community members with the presentation of Australia Day Awards - the highest honour a council can bestow. Awards are presented in the categories of:

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Community Event of the Year

Australian Honours Awards - Order of Australia

The Order of Australia, as part of the Australian Honours system, was established in 1975 as a system for recognising those Australians whose contributions have made an outstanding impact on society.  Awards in the Order of Australia are announced on Australia Day (26 January) and the Queen’s Birthday (June) each year.

Australian Human Rights Commission - Human Rights Awards

The Human Rights Commission has seven categories of award that recognise outstanding contribution to the advancement of human rights: Human Rights Medal; Young People’s Human Rights Medal; Law Award; Business Award; Racism. It Stops With Me Award; and Media Award. Awards can be given to individuals or organisations in recognition of their commitment to, and progress towards equality and diversity.

AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award

The AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award acknowledges and supports the essential role women play in rural industries, businesses and communities. The Award provides a platform to inspire and support Australian women to use and develop their skills to benefit their industries and communities.

Barnardos Australia’s Mother of the Year Awards

Each year, Barnardos Australia recognises and rewards the importance of excellent parenting through the Barnardos Australia’s Mother of the Year Awards. Launched in 1996, the awards recognise the enormous contribution that mothers make in shaping Australia’s future through their role in the nurture of children. The aim of the awards is to publicly acknowledge the vital role mothers play in society and also to raise public awareness of the nurturing role Barnardos plays in many children's lives.

Community Achievement Awards

The Community Achievement Awards for Tasmania are about recognising individuals, organisations and groups who are making a difference in our local communities and our State. There can never be enough encouragement and support for those working towards making our State a better place. Awards such as these create an opportunity to say thank you to those who work tirelessly to develop and improve in their chosen field of endeavour.

Tasmanian Honour Roll of Women

The Honour Roll recognises women who have made a major contribution to the Tasmanian community in a variety of ways. Nominations are sought each year for women from all backgrounds and cultures, and all fields of endeavour including community service, humanitarian, business, science and technology, arts and entertainment, sport, education and the environment.

Telstra Business Women's Awards

The Telstra Business Women’s Awards has been recognising, rewarding and celebrating the achievements of inspiring business women for over 20 years.  This is a national award which has recently been extended to include Asia and comprises of a number of categories at the state and national level such as Entrepreneur Award and For Purpose and Social Enterprise Award.

The Australian Financial Review and Westpac 100 Women of Influence Awards

These awards recognise women who champion progress and change in business and society celebrating women’s leadership and contribution to creating a more vibrant and inclusive future for Australia. There are ten categories which allow for nominations across government, private and not-for-profit sectors as well as for those who have a positive impact in their community through a range of mediums, such as innovation, youth leadership and arts, culture and sport.

Women and Leadership Australia - Australian Award for Excellence in Women's Leadership

This national award recognises women leaders who are committed to gender equality. Each state and Territory has a winner and there is also a National Award for the most outstanding contribution. Nominees reflect a wide range of roles such as sporting mentors, human rights lawyers and politicians.