Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet


Contact Details

By phone
Find the number of a specific division or office to contact them directly or call Service Tasmania on 1300 135 513.

Our staff
Use the Tasmanian Government Directory to find staff contact details

Roseanne Heyward

Tasmanian Honour Roll of Women logo
Roseanne Heyward

Awarded for service to Public Services and Politics; Community Advocacy and Inclusion; Environment; and Volunteering

Born: 4 September 1949

Entered on roll: 2021

Quiet achiever, effective leader

Roseanne Heyward demonstrates that a quiet achiever can be an effective community leader.

Roseanne has an outstanding record serving her community through local government, volunteering and providing leadership, stability and unity through difficult times.

Roseanne was elected to the Tasman Council in 2005. From 2007-2014, she served as Deputy Mayor. In 2014, Roseanne was elected Mayor, only the second woman to hold the position since the establishment of the Tasman Council in 1907.

Roseanne’s enduring legacy as Deputy Mayor was to unite the community, particularly during the January 2013 Dunalley bushfires.

The esteem in which Roseanne is held in local government resulted in her being appointed a member of the Local Government Act Review Steering Committee.

An egalitarian approach has characterised Roseanne’s local government and community advocacy. Roseanne’s commitment to the welfare of her community was exemplified by hard work and always finding the time to attend community events.

For over 10 years, Roseanne was an active member and chair of the Port Arthur Historic Site Advisory Committee. The Advisory Committee’s role is to involve the local community in the management and conservation of the World Heritage Port Arthur Historic Site.

In 2019, Roseanne was appointed to the Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority Board as a non-executive director.

Roseanne has also been actively involved as a volunteer community driver; secretary of the Shelly Beach Coastcare Group and Tasmanian Holiday Experience for children with a Disability Inc. (Breakaway House); a committee member for the Koonya Hall and The Tasman Peninsula Historical Society; President of Dunalley Tasman Neighbourhood House Management Committee; Vice-President of the Tasman Ex-Servicemen and Women’s Association and volunteered with the Youth House, Nubeena, Koonya Garlic Festival, Tasman Regatta and Feast, Eaglehawk Neck Fair and Friends of St Albans.

<< Tasmanian Honour Roll of Women