Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet


Contact Details

By phone
Find the number of a specific division or office to contact them directly or call Service Tasmania on 1300 135 513.

Our staff
Use the Tasmanian Government Directory to find staff contact details

Diane Lesley Kelly OAM

Tasmanian Honour Roll of Women logo
Dianne Kelly OAM

Awarded for service to the community, sport and recreation

Born: 28 August 1946 - Melbourne, Victoria

Entered on roll: 2019

“Serving the community”

Diane Kelly moved to Tasmania as a nine-year-old and was raised by her aunt and uncle, after the passing of her mother.

As a teacher, Diane Kelly spent her career educating children on the North-West Coast. In retirement, Diane has focused on ensuring education is a lifelong process, and in 2015 she was integral to establishing the University of the Third Age at Port Sorell, where she is Vice-President, a tutor and course coordinator.

Though Diane has lived in Hawley for the past 20 years, much of her volunteer work occurred at Railton where she was President of the Railton Child and Health Clinic and a founding member of the Kentish Sugar ’n’ Spice women’s club in 1993.

Diane has been committed to Meals on Wheels for over 40 years. From 1987 to 2004 she was founding Secretary of Railton Meals on Wheels. In 1994, Diane became North-west Meals on Wheels Assessment Coordinator and, on retiring from that role, was elected to the Tasmanian Meals on Wheels Board of Directors. In 1997, Diane became a Life Member of Meals on Wheels Railton Branch.

Diane was a founding member of the Railton Squash and Racquetball Club, served as secretary for over 20 years and was awarded life membership in 1990. Diane introduced the children’s racquetball competition and said the benefits children gained made the club very special.

Diane’s volunteering continues at Hawley Beach where she is a past Patron and Life Member of the Port Sorell Tennis Club; a member of Port Sorell Lions Club; a founding member and President for 14 years of the Rubicon Ladies Club; member of the Mersey Community Auxiliary; volunteer at the Devonport Eisteddfod; member of the Devonport Jazz Festival Committee; and a cruise ship tour guide.

Diane was a recipient of the Rotary Club of Latrobe Citizenship Award in 2014, and in 2017 she was awarded an OAM for service to the community of North-West Tasmania through a range of organisations.

In 2018, Diane carried the Queen’s Baton in the Commonwealth Games Relay.

<< Tasmanian Honour Roll of Women