The Department of Communities Tasmania is made up of three operational divisions that are supported by Corporate Resources and the Office of the Secretary.

The Department is also responsible for a number of functions that relate to specific population cohorts and actions that fall within the scope of Communities Tasmania.


  • Children, Youth and Families
  • Communities, Sport and Recreation
  • Community Services, Infrastructure and Housing


  • Corporate Services
  • Office of the Secretary

Communities Tas organisation structural - details provided as page content

Structure Image in Text:

  • Secretary - Michael Pervan
    • Director, Office of the Secretary - Alex Schouten
    • Manager, Board of Exceptional Needs - Diane Caney
    • Child Advocate - Sonya Pringle-Jones
    • Commander, Emergency Operations Centre - Fiona Lieutier
  • Deputy Secretary, Children, Youth and Families - Mandy Clarke
    • Director, Child and Family Services - Claire Lovell
    • Director, Strategic Policy, Quality and Workforce Development
    • Director,  Youth and Family Violence Services - Pam Honan
    • Children, Youth and Families Reform
  • Deputy Secretary, Communities, Sport and Recreation - Kate Kent
    • Director, Tasmanian Institute of Sport - Paul Austen
    • Manager, Sport and Recreation - Helen Langenberg
    • Manager, Grants, Sport and Recreation Infrastructure - Jackie Honey
    • Manager, Policy and Programs - Rob Hill
  • Deputy Secretary, Community Services, Infrastructure and Housing - Peter White
    • Manager, Ministerial and Stakeholder Engagement - Skye Kelly
    • Manager, Business and Information Services - Warren Lewis
    • Director, Community and Disability Services - Ingrid Ganley
    • Director, Housing Policy and Programs - Jessemy Stone
    • Manager, Tenancy Services  - Rick Fulton
    • Director, Community Infrastructure - Richard Gilmour
  • Deputy Secretary,  Corporate Resources - Kathy Baker
    • Director, People and Culture - Rachel Riseley
    • Principal Finance Officer, Budget and Finance - Rod Fazackerley
    • Director, Information Systems and Strategy - Katie Ault
    • Director, Strategic Reform - Ross Hinkley 
      • Inquiry Support Unit
    • Manager, Governance, Risk and Performance - Deborah Pedley
    • Manager, Legislation and Legal Services - Paula Becker
    • Business Manager, Silverdome - Patrick Ryan
  • Executive Director - Mel Gray
    • Child and Youth Wellbeing Strategy
    • Family Safety Secretariat
    • A/Manager, Office of Aboriginal Affairs - Brett Noble